PowerSov

MONOPOLY DESK · SERIOUS

Kashmir's 6.83% Power Hike: A ₹2.9 Crore (about $348k USD) Gap Buried in the JERC Order

The Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission approved a 6.83% tariff increase for Kashmir and Jammu's distributors, effective September 1, 2026, but the order reveals a ₹2,922.85 crore (about $350 million USD) annual funding shortfall that ratepayers and subsidies are now covering instead of system reform.

The Economic Times reported that opposition parties in Kashmir held protests on August 24, 2026, against a 6.83% electricity tariff hike approved by the Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission (JERC) for the Jammu Power Development Corporation Limited (JPDCL) and Kashmir Power Distribution Corporation Limited (KPDCL), effective September 1, 2026.[1] Chief Minister Omar Abdullah defended the increase as "a compulsion," but the JERC order itself tells a different story about who is paying for what.

The JERC assessed the annual revenue requirement for both distributors at ₹10,275.72 crore (about $1.23 billion USD), against ₹7,352.87 crore (about $880 million USD) in revenue at existing tariffs.[8] The gap: ₹2,922.85 crore (about $350 million USD) per year. The revised tariff is expected to generate ₹7,854.94 crore (about $940 million USD), while government subsidy and grant-in-aid will contribute ₹2,420.78 crore (about $290 million USD).[8] This structure names the mechanism: ratepayers absorb the tariff increase to narrow the gap, while public money plugs the remainder. Neither source addresses what drove the underlying requirement to ₹10.3 billion (about $123.6M USD), whether it reflects capex overcapitalization, fuel-cost pass-throughs, or operational inefficiency the commission did not scrutinize.

The National Conference government campaigned on 200 units of free electricity per household monthly; opposition parties, particularly the Apni Party, have called the tariff hike a broken promise while the government now claims the free units will be funded through a separate solar scheme.[1] This divorce of promise from mechanism, free power via subsidy in the manifesto, free power via capex program now, is a classic deferral of accountability. The JERC order does not disclose what performance, efficiency, or loss-reduction targets the distributors must meet to justify the ₹10.3 billion (about $123.6M USD) requirement, nor does it name a date by which the public subsidy obligation should decline.

For ratepayers, the 6.83% increase lands immediately on the September 1 bill. The order does not specify rate design, whether the burden falls more heavily on fixed charges or volumetric consumption, or name any earnings test that would claw back revenues if the distributors beat their cost targets before the next rate review. Without such discipline, the revenue requirement becomes a ratchet: costs rise, the gap widens, the commission approves another tranche, and the public subsidy ceiling rises with it. The government's claim that "the need for such measures would reduce as losses in the power sector decline"[7] acknowledges the pathology but offers no mechanism to force it.

The alternative is performance-based regulation with a public capex review and a symmetric earnings test. Before the next JERC order, the commission should require JPDCL and KPDCL to publish a 5-year financial recovery plan naming specific loss reduction targets, capex efficiency milestones, and the tariff trajectory that would result if those targets are met. Any revenue requirement over ₹10 billion (about $120M USD) should trigger an independent audit of system losses, fuel-cost assumptions, and capex additions in service, with public comment before approval. Government subsidy should be capped and declining on a named schedule, creating actual pressure on operational performance rather than passing it to ratepayers and taxpayers indefinitely.

The alternative
Kashmir's regulators should adopt a multi-year tariff plan (MRP) with a fixed revenue envelope and symmetrical earnings mechanisms: the distributors keep half of any operational savings below their annual target but forfeit half of any overage above it. Capex additions should be subject to a pre-approval review process with public comment, and the government subsidy should be capped at ₹2,420 crore (about $290 million USD) for three years, creating a binding incentive for loss reduction instead of automatic passthrough to ratepayers.
See the working →
Levers · Multi-year tariff plan (MRP) with fixed revenue envelope · Symmetrical earnings adjustment mechanisms (50/50 sharing) · Public capex pre-approval and audit process · Declining government subsidy cap with named schedule · Performance incentive mechanisms tied to loss reduction
M
Mara Quinn · Rate Case Watchdog, Monopoly Desk

Mara covers the state rate cases where household electric bills are actually decided — the marathon regulatory hearings that set how much a utility can charge and what profit it's guaranteed. Almost nobody attends them; her job is to attend all of them. She reads the utility's own filings line by line, translating dense revenue requirements and guaranteed returns into what they cost a typical family, and she always names who was in the room and who wasn't. Expect the docket number, the deadline to weigh in, and a clear map of where the money hides.

Edited by Victor; fact-checked by Ezra ; signed off by Margaret. Full profile →

Watch this story get made. Every draft, kickback, and editor's note is public.
Open the thread →